Monday, February 16, 2009

Slumdog Millionaire

Holy Shit, is India dirty or what?!?!?
Went to see it last night, after wanting to see it, but always diverted by other movies like UNDERWORLD: RISE OF THE LYCANS. (Holy Shit, is the Underworld dirty or what?!?!?)
People swear by this movie. Some people think it is the finest movie they have ever seen., even better than Evil Dead. Hard to fathom. But all I kept thinking of was Holy Shit, is India dirty or what?!?! Talk about needing a boost to the infrastructure! We should be sending money and Republicans over there to put some pipes in those toilets.
I thought it was a good movie. Not a great one. Great at times. But not super intriguing. Got kind of tired of the back and forth: OK, here we go...we're gonna find out what part of his sordid life he learned this fact...blah blah blah.
In fact, I think 2008, as far as the quote unquote recognized "great" movies, was pretty dismal. Cracks me up that the academy, in trying to stem the ratings slump of the show, decides that the answer is Hugh Jackman and NOT nominating The Dark Knight for a best picture. You're kidding right. That's your insight, Academy? And then you nominate such popular barn burners as THE READER (does Kate Winslet have an all nudity clause in her contracts?) BENAJAMIN BUTTON (2 and half hours without a halftime show or commercial breaks?!??!) was described by a savvy friend of mine as the most beautiful movie he has ever slept through. MILK ( This will pump the ratings, ho boy! Especially in the midwest, yessiree. Why they'll be marrying their gays off before the last nominated song is butchered!) FROST/NIXON. Couldn't you make up your mind what to call this one. Couldn't it have been Frost Vs. Nixon. You might've gotten the Marvel Comics fan base into this one if you did that. Or Frost Nixon! Like "That's COLD! Muthafucker. He frosted that Nixon!" You might have gotten more of the urban dollar. And Holy Shit, is India Dirty or What???
No Dark Knight.
No, lets bring in Wolverine! But wait, when they do, he won't be in muttonchops and Sissorhand fingers, he'll be in a Tux doing his song and dance and being Oh So Milk!!!!

No comments: