Thursday, December 31, 2009
Friday, August 28, 2009
I'm confused. But I like it.
I'm starting to believe my worst aspects. I have invested a lot in Barack, But there is a fear in the country, and when all those that feared woke up, they saw there was a black man who was President, and all I sense is fear.
Sunday, August 2, 2009
The Horror
Have you been hearing the fear? It permeates every single person who was pleased with the presiduncy of George Bush. I have met a few people who say that they think he was the finest president in their life time. You can only look at them as if they are two weeks past their medication. They are in a fear mode that I have to laugh at IF it wasn't so frightening, with the easy availability of guns and all. They are starting to call this country Obamastan. They claim we are on the precipice of the end of the Empire. The Mighty American Empire. They are losing their way of life. Their moorings. Their belief system. They are seeing the world change around them, and it's not asking their opinion. They are fearful of the velvet hammer being applied to the financial sector by the man they call Saddam Hussein Obama. And yes, dear reader, you have figured it out, they are the same conservatives I wrote about earlier. They are weenies. Scared and frightened. Attach electrodes to their eyelids and show them pictures of Abu Garib and they freak out, the needle twitches off the scale. When they find out the man under the hood is of darker skin, they calm down and demand a stronger current be applied to his genitals. There is a black man pissing in Jefferson's toilet. There is a black woman in Mary Todd Lincoln's bathtub. Don't kid yourself, don't give them luxury, this newfound conservatism has nothing to do with fiscal responsibility, nothing to do with a backlash against a democratic victory in the polls. There is a black family in Richard Nixon's White House. Crazy when you think that it was Nixon who said that one of the only reasons we should allow abortion is when the baby is half black, half white. A Barack Obama baby. Have you been hearing the fear?
Monday, April 20, 2009
The Handshake from Hell
Barack Obama had the unmittigating nerve last week to actually extend his hand to shake the hand of Hugo Chavez while in Latin America to discuss relationships/politics/money/oil/Salma Hayeks breasts. I'm not sure about the first four items, but I guarantee there was some discussion about the natural wonder of the fifth item. It's caused an uproar in the conservative sissy community, who, lately have become even more sissified. They're besides themselves, really, apoplectic in paranoid visions that the next thing that's going to befall this great land is that a woman might become president, and she might actually have 2 black parents. Obama bowed to a Saudi, Michelle touched the Queen, and now Barack shook hands with the democratically elected president of Venezula. Next, he's gonna bump fists with Hu Jintao, high five Putin, low five Medvedev, French kiss Carla Bruni and fondle the hell out of Salma Hayek. And I promise you, at the end of that week, we'll be able to do anything we want throughout the rest of the civilized world. And the oil will be for free.
Saturday, April 11, 2009
Ice shlan
I have never before seen in my life- and I am not a sheltered individual - as much suicidal, blind, bleery-eyed, stumlbing and mumbling and vomiting in the streets drinking as I saw last night - well - this morning - in Reyjavik. First, most places were closed for Good Friday, so they opened at midnight. These are night people, make no mistake. If vampires come from anywhere, it's here. Then, with the tax on alcohol - which judging by the amount consumed, should be 3 times higher - it's too expensive, so they drink at home first, get fairly well oiled, then go out. The streets become like a college town, but with older people, who don't have the atheletism of a 20 year old, so there you'd think you were in the middle of a 7.0 earthquake with the amount of stumbling going on. Everybody is mostly from someplace else, but that doesn't matter, as by 5 in the morning, they really don't remember where they're from.
Thursday, April 9, 2009
No Trees for Iceland
One of the things you notice right off the plane in Iceland is that there are no trees. Occassionally you see a cluster, but for a place a primordial as this, pretty sparse. They have what they like to call trees, but that you and I know are more like bushes. Seems that when a disgruntled band of VIkings decided to expand past Norway, they came to Iceland in the hopes of having their own land. They cut the trees down for both heat and to build their boats, which they would need to fish and to ski behind. And they kept cutting. Until there were no more trees. And that was that. Norway took over not long after that. Be careful the natural resources you squander.
Saturday, February 28, 2009
They'rrrrre Back
It didn't take long, but the GOP, flailing its arms at the kiddie end of the political pool, is greasing their anger on the bail out and the plan President-O is trying to put into play to somehow, someway make sure that at the end of the spring, the only people with jobs WON"T JUST be the politicians. A 9000 attendee conservative "think" conference, podiumed by Ann 'My parents were pure breed Afghans" Coulter and Newt 'Splendid Contract for America' Gingrich took place in the one place they could reach out to everyday folk with everyday problems...Washington.
Their tom toms beat anew to the same beat: Socialism. Nationalism. Big Government is Bad. And how the unemployed American worker will get us back on our feet, especially after their unemployment runs out. Now, we know damned well that Capitalism, pure unfettered market horseshit and free, unregulated trade has been damn good for this country so far - stupendo!- and that nationalizing the banks, who are on their knees begging for More soup, Sir, Please, more soup! so they can get their balance sheets back level by July, is just bad bad bad. Newt said that we're dangerously close European style economy. Horrors! Can you imagine that! Or better yet, a Canadian style economy! Double horrors. Except that the Canadian banks are just fine thank you, and if it weren't for our American style economy, the European economy would be just fine, the wine would flow, the women thin and beautiful, and the croissants buttery. Now, they don't really agree why it's bad to the take over of shit hole banks like Citibank, but here's why it's good: Cause if they go don't countless retirement funds and other huge institutional funds will be in the trash. Citibank is worth 10 billion dollars. That's as much as beer maker Heinekin. And I agree that Big Government in the hands of Ann Coulter would be bad, but so would all govenment. I was really hoping these guys would just go away for at least 2 whole years. But you see, instead of offering constructive energies, they are using this time to rebuld and reidentify their tired corrupt homophobic party. And they will screw up as much as they can before they let Obama put of droplet of change into the system, check on the behavior that results, tweak some more, and see if he can reduce the severity of the turmoil of this recessapression.
Film at 11.
Their tom toms beat anew to the same beat: Socialism. Nationalism. Big Government is Bad. And how the unemployed American worker will get us back on our feet, especially after their unemployment runs out. Now, we know damned well that Capitalism, pure unfettered market horseshit and free, unregulated trade has been damn good for this country so far - stupendo!- and that nationalizing the banks, who are on their knees begging for More soup, Sir, Please, more soup! so they can get their balance sheets back level by July, is just bad bad bad. Newt said that we're dangerously close European style economy. Horrors! Can you imagine that! Or better yet, a Canadian style economy! Double horrors. Except that the Canadian banks are just fine thank you, and if it weren't for our American style economy, the European economy would be just fine, the wine would flow, the women thin and beautiful, and the croissants buttery. Now, they don't really agree why it's bad to the take over of shit hole banks like Citibank, but here's why it's good: Cause if they go don't countless retirement funds and other huge institutional funds will be in the trash. Citibank is worth 10 billion dollars. That's as much as beer maker Heinekin. And I agree that Big Government in the hands of Ann Coulter would be bad, but so would all govenment. I was really hoping these guys would just go away for at least 2 whole years. But you see, instead of offering constructive energies, they are using this time to rebuld and reidentify their tired corrupt homophobic party. And they will screw up as much as they can before they let Obama put of droplet of change into the system, check on the behavior that results, tweak some more, and see if he can reduce the severity of the turmoil of this recessapression.
Film at 11.
Wednesday, February 25, 2009
Slumdog Jindal
The hope of the completely bankrupt and increasingly more marginalized Republican party - Bobby Jindal - toted the party line about smaller government. So is that what we actually got the past eight years? Did the government shrink? Did the powers of the government shrink to be able to incarcerate citizens without a trail, or to kidnap them to other countries, or to listen in on their phone conversations? Did it shrink with a military expenditure to rival six of the most industrialized nations? No, it didn't shrink, it got stupid. He's right, with the Republicans in charge, I don't want the governement to get bigger, cause with them, it just gets stupider. Obama was right. Every major catastrophe in this country HAS ALWAYS REQUIRED GOVERNMENT ASSISTANCE to get us out of what the private sector, unregualted and wild with profit, got us in to. Even their great leader, Abraham Lincoln, oversaw one of the biggest forced regualtion of business in the history of this nation. It was called the Civil War. And it regulated AGAINST FREE LABOR for the cotton industry. I have a suggestion. If the Republican politicians seriousely want to shrink the government tell them to stay out of it. Don't run. Don't serve. That'll make it smaller right there.
Monday, February 16, 2009
Slumdog Millionaire
Holy Shit, is India dirty or what?!?!?
Went to see it last night, after wanting to see it, but always diverted by other movies like UNDERWORLD: RISE OF THE LYCANS. (Holy Shit, is the Underworld dirty or what?!?!?)
People swear by this movie. Some people think it is the finest movie they have ever seen., even better than Evil Dead. Hard to fathom. But all I kept thinking of was Holy Shit, is India dirty or what?!?! Talk about needing a boost to the infrastructure! We should be sending money and Republicans over there to put some pipes in those toilets.
I thought it was a good movie. Not a great one. Great at times. But not super intriguing. Got kind of tired of the back and forth: OK, here we go...we're gonna find out what part of his sordid life he learned this fact...blah blah blah.
In fact, I think 2008, as far as the quote unquote recognized "great" movies, was pretty dismal. Cracks me up that the academy, in trying to stem the ratings slump of the show, decides that the answer is Hugh Jackman and NOT nominating The Dark Knight for a best picture. You're kidding right. That's your insight, Academy? And then you nominate such popular barn burners as THE READER (does Kate Winslet have an all nudity clause in her contracts?) BENAJAMIN BUTTON (2 and half hours without a halftime show or commercial breaks?!??!) was described by a savvy friend of mine as the most beautiful movie he has ever slept through. MILK ( This will pump the ratings, ho boy! Especially in the midwest, yessiree. Why they'll be marrying their gays off before the last nominated song is butchered!) FROST/NIXON. Couldn't you make up your mind what to call this one. Couldn't it have been Frost Vs. Nixon. You might've gotten the Marvel Comics fan base into this one if you did that. Or Frost Nixon! Like "That's COLD! Muthafucker. He frosted that Nixon!" You might have gotten more of the urban dollar. And Holy Shit, is India Dirty or What???
No Dark Knight.
No, lets bring in Wolverine! But wait, when they do, he won't be in muttonchops and Sissorhand fingers, he'll be in a Tux doing his song and dance and being Oh So Milk!!!!
Went to see it last night, after wanting to see it, but always diverted by other movies like UNDERWORLD: RISE OF THE LYCANS. (Holy Shit, is the Underworld dirty or what?!?!?)
People swear by this movie. Some people think it is the finest movie they have ever seen., even better than Evil Dead. Hard to fathom. But all I kept thinking of was Holy Shit, is India dirty or what?!?! Talk about needing a boost to the infrastructure! We should be sending money and Republicans over there to put some pipes in those toilets.
I thought it was a good movie. Not a great one. Great at times. But not super intriguing. Got kind of tired of the back and forth: OK, here we go...we're gonna find out what part of his sordid life he learned this fact...blah blah blah.
In fact, I think 2008, as far as the quote unquote recognized "great" movies, was pretty dismal. Cracks me up that the academy, in trying to stem the ratings slump of the show, decides that the answer is Hugh Jackman and NOT nominating The Dark Knight for a best picture. You're kidding right. That's your insight, Academy? And then you nominate such popular barn burners as THE READER (does Kate Winslet have an all nudity clause in her contracts?) BENAJAMIN BUTTON (2 and half hours without a halftime show or commercial breaks?!??!) was described by a savvy friend of mine as the most beautiful movie he has ever slept through. MILK ( This will pump the ratings, ho boy! Especially in the midwest, yessiree. Why they'll be marrying their gays off before the last nominated song is butchered!) FROST/NIXON. Couldn't you make up your mind what to call this one. Couldn't it have been Frost Vs. Nixon. You might've gotten the Marvel Comics fan base into this one if you did that. Or Frost Nixon! Like "That's COLD! Muthafucker. He frosted that Nixon!" You might have gotten more of the urban dollar. And Holy Shit, is India Dirty or What???
No Dark Knight.
No, lets bring in Wolverine! But wait, when they do, he won't be in muttonchops and Sissorhand fingers, he'll be in a Tux doing his song and dance and being Oh So Milk!!!!
Friday, February 13, 2009
I thought the Republicans were going to have some quiet time
New parents are always fond of punishing their little brats by telling them they have to have some quiet time. And I guess they are sent to the punishing sanctuary of their computer, flatscreened and otherwise digitally enhanced and completely kidsafe rooms. I don't know what it is that you have to do anymore to earn "quiet time" but I have to say, after 8 years of the completely out of control and infrastructure destroying GOP, shouldn't we be demanding that they have some quiet time? Shouldn't we insist that they return to their ranches, their country clubs, their yachts bought by Haliburton kickbacks, and SHUT THE HELL UP! For at least two whole freakin' years? I think so. I don't even mind if they leave the dinner table early. I'll give them a hall pass on eating their brocolli, but just, seriousely just, SHUT THE HELL UP! If I hear that the way out of this financial dump in the country's diaper is more tax cuts, I'm going to scream.
Monday, January 26, 2009
Naahhh.
Something will come up.
Waiting for the banks to misplace the billions the government gave them.
Waiting for the banks to misplace the billions the government gave them.
Big Stoopit Wurl Saved by Thin Black Man
Well, I'm not saying that it's NOT a big stoopit wurl, but for the past two weeks, it's been a little less of a big stoopit wurl. Yeah, the governor of Illinois is pretty funny, and the tired old section of the GOP are still pretty stoopit, but lets face, they have no fangs. They're less to go after. Pathetic, even. I can be vigilant with the new administration, because, after all, politicians are politicians and worthy of our ridicule. But then, tonight on CNN, there is Baracky giving a measured interview with an Arab news source. In his 10th day. So I'm gonna have to close this one down and find another hobby.
Adios.
Maybe we are coming out of our long national psychosis afterall.
Adios.
Maybe we are coming out of our long national psychosis afterall.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
